Bet on the Triple Crown of Horse Racing

American Triple Crown of Horse Racing

The Triple Crown of Horse Racing features the worlds best three year old horses and is widely considered as the most intense, gruelling and difficult trio of Thoroughbred horse racing events held in the United States. It starts with the Road to the Kentucky Derby where the world's best two year old horses compete and then graduate onto 3 year old racing. During this series of races, horses earn points for finishing in the top four positions in effort to get a starting position in the 1st jewel of the Triple Crown. Raced on the first Saturday in May, the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Down in Louisville, Kentucky is the first stage of the Triple Crown. Two weeks after the Derby, the best three year old horses head to the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Track in Baltimore, Maryland. The final leg of the gruelling Triple Crown is the Belmont Stakes which occurs only three weeks after the Preakness. Winning the Triple Crown not only takes a horse with incredible pedigree, exquisite training and great chemistry with a jockey but it takes a horse with incredible heart, stamina and a bit of luck too. 2015 offered horse racing fans a spectacle that hadn't been seen in over 30 years as American Pharoah won all three races of the Triple Crown and then went on to win the Breeders' Cup Classic as well becoming the first horse ever to win what is known as the Grand Slam of Horse Racing. The challenges Triple Crown contenders face are seemingly infinite and recently insurmountable but American Pharoah has finally proven that even in the modern era of horse racing, it can be done.

The 2018 Kentucky Derby

Date: Saturday, May 5th, 2018
Location: Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Track: Churchill Downs

The 2018 Preakness Stakes

Date: Saturday, May 19th, 2018
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, United Stakes
Track: Pimlico Race Track

The 2018 Belmont Stakes

Date: Saturday, June 9th, 2018
Location: Elmont, New York, United States
Track: Belmont Park

Triple Crown Winners

Since it's inception, the American Triple Crown of Horse Racing has seen only 11 winners and only one of those wins have occurred during the past 30 years. The last winner of the Triple Crown before American Pharoah was Affirmed who was owned and bred by Harbour View Farm. Horse racing fans have recently had great opportunities to bet on some great Triple Crown contenders in California Chrome, I'll Have Another and Big Brown but in the end only American Pharoah has been able to win the modern day Triple Crown. Whether it be due to injury, fatigue, sickness or countless other reasons, it is seemingly impossible to win all three races.

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner
2015 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert Zayat Stables, LLC
1978 Affirmed Steve Cauthen Laz Barrera Harbor View Farm
1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet William H. Turner, Jr. Karen L. Taylor
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable
1948 Citation Eddie Arcaro Horace A. Jones Calumet Farm
1946 Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch
1943 Count Fleet Johnny Longden G. Donald Cameron Fannie Hertz
1941 Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1937 War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel D. Riddle
1935 Omaha Willie Saunders Jim Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1930 Gallant Fox Earl Sande Jim Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1919 Sir Barton Johnny Loftus H. Guy Bedwell J. K. L. Ross

This is the horse, this is the year

Every year horse racing fans are teased and taunted by a new crop of world class Thoroughbreds with hopes that just maybe they will catch a glimpse of true greatness. Do you think there will there be a Triple Crown winner this year? It all starts with the Road to the Kentucky Derby. Bet on, follow, handicap and watch every horse race in the Road to the Roses both live and in replays here at USA Sportsbook